, Newburyport, MA

November 8, 2011

Newburyport: Voters pass charter changes

Staff reports

— NEWBURYPORT -- Voters passed numerous revisions of the city charter that will double the mayor's term of office to four years, increase the mayor's pay and make numerous other changes in Tuesday's election.

In the most hotly contested race -- for city councilor at-large -- voters re-elected incumbents Barry Connell. Ed Cameron, Ari Herzog and Kathleen O'Connor-Ives, and former school committee member Dick Sullivan Jr. also won a seat.  Three other candidates lost their bid for election -- Larry Giunta, Mike Early, and incumbent Steve Hutcheson.

Voters also re-elected Bruce Menin and Nick deKanter to the School Committee. The third open seat went to Audrey McCarthy, a former city councilor.

The charter changes will not take effect until 2014, after the next mayoral election.

For full details, see The Daily News' Wednesday edition.