, Newburyport, MA

November 8, 2011

Amesbury: Kezer wins, split on ballot questions

Staff reports

— AMESBURY -- Mayor Thatcher Kezer handily won a fourth term in office in Tuesday's election, beating challenger Ted Semesnyei by a margin of 59-41.

Voters in District 4 ousted Municipal Councilor Mary Chatigny, who was challenged by political newcomer Chris Scorzoni.

Two ballot questions produced split results. Voters approved changes to the Amesbury charter that will make several changes -- including officially calling Amesbury a city -- and they decided to ban the flouridation of drinking water.

In other races on the ballot:

Three incumbent at-large councilors were returned to office for another term. They are Anne Ferguson, James Kelcourse and Allen Neale. Former councilor Mario Pinierio was unsuccessful in his bid for office.

In the race for the Board of Library Trustees, incumbents Mary Dunford and Johanna Kimball won seats, along with Gail Browne and Laura Buckley. Former municipal councilor Jonathan Sherwood was unsuccessful.

In the race for School Committee, the three incumbents were returned to office. They are Bonnie Schultz, Debra Ann LaValley, and Stanley Schwartz. They were challenged by Vanita Henderson.

For full details, see Wednesday's Daily News.