NewburyportNews.com, Newburyport, MA

PortWatch

March 27, 2014

Remembering Hendrix

Original bassist part of tribute concert at Hampton Beach Casino

(Continued)

Now those final songs released after Hendrix’s death, as well as many of the tunes Hendrix released during his lifetime, make up the repertoire of the Experience Hendrix concerts, a tour that has grown from a five-day outing in 2004 to one that now visits about 20 cities most years in the spring and fall.

This spring tour will feature guitarists Buddy Guy, Zakk Wylde, Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Eric Johnson, Doyle Bramhall II, Dweezil Zappa, Cesar Rosas, David Hidalgo, Eric Gales, Mato Nanji (of Indigenous) and Malina Moye, with Cox and former Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble drummer Chris Layton forming the rhythm section.

Past shows, which run more than two hours, have drawn rave reviews, and Cox feels the performances embody the “true spirit of Jimi Hendrix.”

“People just love it because they can feel us, the spirit onstage,” Cox said. “I tell anyone, if you like Jimi Hendrix’s music and came up with it, you’ve got to see the Experience Hendrix tour, because it will set you back on your heels.”

Coming up at the Casino Ballroom

Experience Hendrix: Today. Sold-out.

Volbeat: Friday, May 9. Sold-out.

Buckcherry: Saturday, May 10. $25-$30.

Jason Bonham’s Led Zeppelin Experience: Tuesday, May 13. $26-$46.

Joe Bonamassa: Friday, May 16. Sold-out.

The Monkees: Thursday, May 22. $35-$76

Steel Panther: Friday, May 23. $26.

Rusted Root and The Wailers: Friday, May 30. $23.

Billy Idol: Tuesday, June 3. $60-$65.

Cheap Trick: Thursday, June 5. $30-$66.

Dark Star Orchestra: Friday, June 6, and Saturday, June 7. $26.

Fitz & The Tantrums: Sunday, June 8. $19.75.

Everclear, Soul Asylum, Eve 6 and Spacehog: Wednesday, June 18. $28.

George Thorogood and The Destroyers: Friday, June 20, and Saturday, June 21. $29-$50.

Happy Together Tour 2014: Friday, June 27. $30-$60.

Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo: Wednesday, July 2. $33-$56.

Badfish! A Tribute to Sublime: Saturday, July 5. $19.

* All shows are at 8 p.m. For tickets, visit www.casinoballroom.com.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Special Features
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
Special Features