, Newburyport, MA

January 1, 2014

Eleven seats to be filled in May election


---- — WEST NEWBURY — Residents resolving to become more involved in 2014 will have a chance to run for one of 11 municipal seats in the upcoming election season.

Potential candidates may obtain nomination papers from the town clerk’s office beginning Monday, Jan. 6. The last day to pull papers is March 14 at 5 p.m. and the deadline for submitting the documents for consideration by the Board of Registrars is March 17 at 5 p.m. Nomination papers must be endorsed by at least 23 registered West Newbury voters in order for a candidate’s name to appear on the May 5 town ballot.

The following is a list of municipal seats to be filled this year and the incumbents who currently hold them. Unless otherwise noted, all seats are for three-year terms.

Selectman: Albert H. Knowles Jr.

Planning Board: Brian R. Murphey (five-year term)

Board of Health: Blake J. Seale

Water commissioner: Richard Thurlow

Library trustees (3 seats): M. Dorothy Cavanaugh, R. Bruce Hamilton, Judith W. Marshall

Board of Assessors: John J. Cena

Parks and Recreation: Allison Hammett

Pentucket School Committee: Christine Reading

West Newbury Housing Authority: David S. Houlden (five-year term).