, Newburyport, MA

Local News

May 14, 2014

Residents receive Peace Prize Awards

NEWBURYPORT — The 19th annual Peace Prize Award ceremony, sponsored by Newburyport’s Commission for Diversity and Tolerance, on May 6 at Newburyport City Hall auditorium.

Schools in the city selected recipients who exemplifies the mission of the Commission for Diversity and Tolerance by demonstrating peacemaking skills through good conflict resolution and through inclusion with a diverse mix of peers.

Each student received a gift certificate and a certificate of recognition. The Newburyport Five Cents Savings Bank and Institution for Savings donated the gift certificates and Denise’s Flower Shop donated the flowers given to the recipients.

Peace Prizes were also awarded to a group of six adults from Newburyport for their work in furthering the mission of the Commission for Diversity and Tolerance: Gwen Valdez, Galen McKinnon, Sheylla Cordova, Sue Casey, Marilyn Melendez and Diami Barry. They are all residents and Tenant Council officers at Kelleher Park, public housing for families. According to organizers, “they are shining examples of rising to the occasion, working cooperatively and trying to build a better community for everyone. They represent a wide variety of cultures and are working together to create a welcoming, safe, inclusive and most importantly a happy environment where their children can thrive.”

Mayor Donna Holaday and Superintendent Susan Viccaro welcomed the Peace Prize recipients and audience on behalf of the City of Newburyport and the Public Schools. Kathleen Shaw, representing Friends For Peace, Inc., spoke about fundraising efforts on behalf of the Commission. Local folk musician Susan Levine, entertained the audience with two beautiful, uplifting songs. Principals and teachers from each school presented the awards to students. Nancy Earls presented the Adult Peace Prize award to the six recipients.

The 2014 Peace Prize Award winners are:

River Valley Charter School: Hanna Gustafson, Olivia Gustafson, Liam Gustafson

Immaculate Conception School: Grace McDowell, Jeremiah Mackin-Alonzi

Bresnahan School: Shae Gallagher, Benjamin Healey

Molin Upper Elementary School: Kaylie Sullivan, Lauren Kolman

Rupert A Nock Middle School: Emily Coulombe, Jake Lane

Newburyport High School: William Mombello, Morgan Johnston

The adult Peace Prize winners are: Gwen Valdez, Galen McKinnon, Sheylla Cordova, Sue Casey, Marilyn Melendez and Diami Barry

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Port Pics
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Special Features