, Newburyport, MA

Local News

April 17, 2013

Two contested positions on Rowley ballot

ROWLEY — Residents will decide two contested races — for selectman and light board — at the May 14 annual town election. Polls will be open from noon to 8 p.m. at St. Mary’s Hall on Main Street.

There are two positions open for three-year terms on the Board of Selectmen but three candidates: incumbent G. Robert Merry of 40 Warehouse Lane, John Noyes of 71 Plantation Drive and David Petersen of 25 Newbury Road.

Additionally, there is one three-year position open on the town’s Municipal Light Board and three candidates: Merle D. Phipps of 18 Fenno Drive, Kevin D. Snow of 82 Hillside St., and Robert L. Snow of 7 Saunders Lane.

Four seats are open on the Triton Regional School Committee, but all incumbents are running unchallenged. They are: Robin Williams for Newbury, 12 Scotland Heights Drive, for a three-year term; Paul Lees for Rowley, 71 Wilson Pond Lane, for a three-year term; Richard Cummings of Rowley, 3 Arbor Way for a one-year unexpired term; and Deborah Choate of Salisbury, 8 Lions Way, for a three-year term.

Three positions are available on the Trustees for the Public Library, but only two candidates are running: Michelle M. Ford of 51 Hammond St., who is the candidate for re-election, and Mark R. Behringer of 115 Bennett Hill Road.

Those running unchallenged are:

Joan Carol Petersen of 25 Newbury Road for a one-year term as moderator.

Richard C. MacDonald of 52 Summer St. for the three-year constable seat.

Diane D’Angeli of 535 Haverhill St., incumbent for a three-year Board of Assessors seat.

Clifford Pierce of 399 Wethersfield St., incumbent for a five-year Planning Board seat.

Stephen G. Kassiotis of 109 Newbury Road for the two-year unexpired term on the Planning Board.

Stuart L. Dalzell Sr. of 60 Warehouse Lane for the three-year seat on the Municipal Water Board.

Michael L. Cook of 10 Central St. for the three-year term as shellfish commissioner.

Peter Dalzell, 60 Warehouse Lane is the incumbent up for re-election to the three-year term as a cemetery commissioner.

Michael Quinn of 18 School St. and Eve Marie Miller of 51 Bennett Hill Road are both running for two one-year unexpired terms as Trustees for the Public Library.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Port Pics
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Special Features