, Newburyport, MA

April 22, 2013

AHS inducts new members, recognizes seniors

Newburyport Daily News

---- — AMESBURY — The following seniors have been members of the Amesbury chapter of the National Honor Society for the past year:

Sarah Abraham, Merissa Anderson, Jack Ashton,Timothy Buonodono, Christopher Butler, Matthew Camilliere, Emily Carol, Savannah Champion, Carter Cotrupi, Natalie Dawes, Amanda Doster, Jonah Einson, Aisha Elfiki, Jonathan Ellen, Jonathon Everett, Janine Fatal, Nicholas Fiorella, Gregory Folsom, Mikayla Fredette, Michael Gilday, Emily Hanshaw, Patrick Hopkins, Mikayla Mackey, Jesse Magnifico, Emily Martin, Dylan Masi, Sarah McCullough, Carolina Merrill, Wesley Morris, Perry Mroz, Curran O’Connor Madison Padgett, Sarina Raymond, Robert Rigo, Bram Robinson, Padraic Rowan, Arman Sanentz, Jesse Santosuosso, Cassandra Schultz, Erica Snyder, Taylor Tagliente, Lucas Townsend, Renee Vigneault, Alec Wade and Delane Zahoruiko.

For the past year, the seniors have maintained a GPA of 3.75 or higher while serving as team captains, classroom role models, club officers, worked at part-time jobs, and performing service for the community. Several National Honor Society members tutor middle school students, perform at holiday parades in Amesbury, serve as swim instructors for children with special needs and volunteer as a Big Brother or Big Sister to elementary age students.

The honor society also volunteered with Habitat for Humanity in Lawrence, raised money to purchase holiday gifts for children and walked in the Amesbury Relay for Life.

At an induction ceremony and reception earlier this month, the following members of the Class of 2014 were inducted into the society as well: Courtney Borkowski, Megan Borkowski, Alexis Boswell, Emily Chamerlain, Meghan Chines, Reina Cracknell, Benjamin Cullen, Zoe Cummings, Alexandria Debasitis, Sarah Donohue, Joshua Eby, Zachery Fitzgerald, Liam Gallagher, Aspen Gibbas, Caleb Grot, Patrick Halloran, Rhiannon Jeselonis, Olivia King, Alexa Mellon, Valerie Meskie, Ryan Mirley, Jacob Myer, Jared Nasser, Daniel Norton, Logan Piercey, Emily Pugh, Marissa Randall, Emily Sample, Amanda Schell, Lucy Severance, Julia Shorter, Sarai Smith, Casey Surgent, Ariel Tarr, Austen Wigglesworth and Emily Williams.