, Newburyport, MA

October 25, 2012

Retired teachers recognize two members

Newburyport Daily News

---- — NEWBURYPORT — The Newburyport Retired Teachers Association held its 20th semiannual luncheon on Wednesday, Oct. 17, at Stripers Grille in Salisbury. The event was organized by Ted Kyrios, Jim Marshall and Mary Fordham.

The city’s newest retirees, Sue LaBay and Steve Smith, were welcomed. Lydia’s Kids Foundation calendars were sold for the Pot of Gold raffle to be held throughout March.

Kathy Talkington, Teamsters representative to the public employment committee, updated the group on the city’s health plan.

Special recognition was given to two members.

Richard Doyle was acknowledged with appreciation for originating the luncheons and organizing the first 14 gatherings

Jean Foley Doyle was commended for being honored by the American Association of State and Local History with a national prize for her lifetime achievement in preserving and promoting 20th century Newburyport. Of the 57 winners from 29 states represented at the ceremony in Salt Lake City, Utah, only five were authors. The others were museums and historical societies.

Doyle integrated local history into her high school curriculum and, with the assistance of her high school students, published three small booklets of oral histories as remembered by the city’s citizens. Following her retirement, she published two books — “Life in Newburyport, 1900-1950” and “Life in Newburyport, 1950-1985” — highlighting 20th century Newburyport, which had not been explored in the past.

Those attending the luncheon were Gurney Arnold, Dawn Bennett, JoAnne Brislin, Leslie Childs, Mary Ellen Clarkson, Sue Coffey, Ruth Connors, Elaine Cox, Mary Ann Daley, Louis Dispensa, Joe Donnelly, Sue Down, Ellie Doyle, Jean Doyle, Richard Doyle, Mary DuGrenier, Ellen Erekson, Mary Flynn, Tim Foley, Mary Fordham, Marin Fortune, Judy Fuller, Roger Gagnon, Alan Gates, Mary Ann Gaudette, John Halloran, Beverly Hill, Kay Hollerer, Jane Holway, Robin Johnson, Shirley Kilgour, Linda Kuse, Ted Kyrios, Sue LaBay, Lorraine Leary, Jim Marshall, Alice Mulvany, John Mulvany, Janet Murphy, Diane Nadeau, Steve Politis, Neil Reardon, Marcia Sapienza, Steve Smith, Loretta Stafford, Dan Sullivan, and Peg Taranda.