, Newburyport, MA

April 30, 2013

Commission for Diversity and Tolerance awards mini-grants

Newburyport Daily News

---- — NEWBURYPORT — Newburyport’s Commission for Diversity and Tolerance celebrated the recipients of their 2013 mini-grants at a reception April 25 at the Newburyport Public Library.

Each grant was chosen because it furthers the mission of the commission, which is to promote a sense of welcome in the Newburyport community, to promote inclusion and to work toward the elimination of prejudice, intolerance, discrimination and acts of hate. Mayor Holaday offered congratulations to the grant writers and shared some stories of the early years of the commission.

Funding for the mini-grants is made possible through the efforts of the organization Friends for Peace, Inc. Jan DeSantis, president, encouraged everyone to support their fundraising efforts by attending the Wet Paint Auction on Oct. 26 at Mission Oak Grill.

Each recipient was presented with a grant award check on behalf of Friends for Peace and the Commission for Diversity and Tolerance. The following mini-grants were awarded:

United in Poetry

Deborah Szabo, Newburyport High School

International Expo

Marilyn Johnston, Nock Middle School

MLK Breakfast

Ellie Davis, YWCA

Opportunity Works International Week

Deborah Andrews, Opportunity Works

Diversity Reading Project and Collection

Aine Greaney and Susan Chase, Emma Andrews Library

Community Partners

Kerry Mahoney, The Arc, Greater Haverhill-Newburyport

Civil Rights Unit: The Nine Who Dared Performance, Theatre Espresso Group

Jen Groskin and Sally Leety, Nock Middle School

Civil Rights Unit: Slavery and Civil Rights Novels

Jen Groskin, Nock Middle School Boys Club

Nancy Earls and Ollie Jones, Newburyport Learning Enrichment Center