, Newburyport, MA

May 7, 2013

True easily re-elected as town clerk

By Elizabeth Rose

---- — MERRIMAC — By a margin of more than 2 to 1, incumbent town clerk Patricia True won re-election to another three-year term last night in the only contest in the town election.

The results were 224 votes for True to 115 for Ellen Miracle in Precinct One and 226 votes for True to 108 votes for Miracle in Precinct Two, making a total of 450 votes for True and 223 for Miracle.

Miracle, assistant town clerk, ran against True in her first contested race since taking the position in 1988. Miracle ran on a campaign to “improve the flow of information and bring the town office into the 21st century” by introducing more social media and online features to town business. Miracle was not available for a statement at presstime.

Approximately 5 percent of town voters turned out for the election. True staid that the absence of a school override on the ballot meant that fewer young voters may have come to the polling booths. Indeed, the voters were weighted toward the “informed, active people who are there for everything,” according to Planning Board Chairwoman Sandy Venner.

Town Moderator Robert Bender was pleased with the election. “I’ve had Pat on my side for Town Meetings for 20 years and I am pleased to see that she will continue. The town is lucky to have someone of her talent,” he said.

Outgoing Selectman Earl Baumgardner said, “The people have spoken. The town is in good hands.”

Already a 25-year veteran of her position, True was delighted to be re-elected.

“I feel very pleased and grateful. I am humbled and awestruck at the confidence that the townspeople have shown in re-electing me,” she said.

True calls her position “Information Ground Zero.”

“When you don’t know who you need to call or who you need to see, you call the town clerk,” she said.

“I am proud and happy to begin another three-year commitment to my home town.”

The uncontested races are as follows:

Moderator: Robert J. Bender

Selectman: Harold E. Lloyd

Assessor: Louise T. Lingerman

Planning Board: No candidate

School Committee: Jayne I. Broz

Board of Health: Jason D. Sargent

Library Trustee: Jeffrey W. Hoyt, Ellen L. Evans

Cemetery Trustee: Carol S. Ranshaw

Light Commissioner: Linda J. Soucy

Housing Authority: Stephen P. True

Housing Authority: Henry A. Beaudoin

Constable: Arthur D. Evans, Robert E. Turner