, Newburyport, MA

May 16, 2013

More residents take out papers to run for office


---- — NEWBURYPORT — The number of residents who have taken out papers to run for the City Council has risen to 14.

Four individuals have taken out papers to run for mayor, with City Councilor Dick Sullilvan Jr. the sole candidate who has returned his papers. The other three who have shown interest are City Councilor Greg Earls, newcomer Keith Kennedy and incumbent Mayor Donna Holaday.

The primary election is scheduled for Tuesday, Sept. 17, according to spokesmen in the office of the city clerk.

Taking out papers for (five) at-large seats have been Barry Connell, an incumbent who lives on 36 Woodland St.; Joanne McCarthy of 158 Crow Lane; Bruce Vogel, 28 Myrtle Ave.; Bruce Menin, 83 Lime St.; incumbent Ed Cameron, 17 Oakland St.; and Meghan Kinsey, 1 Griffin Court.

Vogel is a former member of the City Council. Menin served on the School Committee, and Kinsey was a key organizer of the Port Pride movement last year that resulted in the successful referendum campaigns for a new elementary school, a renovated Nock-Molin complex and a senior recreation center.

Voters will elect five as at-large councilors.

City clerk records show that no candidates have emerged to run for the council seat for Ward 1, currently held by Allison Heartquist.

Two candidates have taken papers for Ward 2, Christopher Welch and Jared Eigerman. Both are lawyers. Welch is a former councilor and Eigerman was active in the attempt to pass a Local Historic District in the city. Earls, the incumbent in this ward, has indicated he will be in the mayor’s race, and cannot run for council in the same election.

In Ward 3, incumbent Bob Cronin and Leslie Eckholdt of 36 Warren St. have pulled papers.

In Ward 4, Sean McDonald of 9 Farrell St. has requested the appropriate paperwork.

In Ward 5, Larry Giunta, 139 Crow Lane, and Sean Reardon, 1 Cutting Drive, have taken papers. Giunta ran in 2011 as an at-large candidate; Reardon is a former member of the Parks Commission. Incumbent Brian Derrivan said he is not running.

In Ward 6, Council President Tom O’Brien of 11 Moseley Ave. has taken out papers.