, Newburyport, MA

February 5, 2013

Six to vie for one seat on Board of Selectmen

By Angeljean Chiaramida

---- — SEABROOK — Next month, voters will have six candidates to choose from in the race for the one seat available on the Board of Selectmen.

The polls at the Community/Recreation Center will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 12, when registered voters will decide who assumes important town and school leadership roles.

Incumbent two-term Selectman Brendan Kelly is being challenged by Maria Y. Brown, Paul Knowles, Eric N. Smith, Raymond E. Smith and Paula J. Wood. Smith, a retired math teacher at Seabrook Middle School, was the last candidate to sign up before the filing window closed last week.

Like Kelly, Brown, Small and Wood currently hold elected offices in Seabrook. Brown serves as Seabrook’s representative on the Winnacunnet Cooperative School Board, Small is a trustee on the Library Board of Trustees and Wood is the chairwoman of the Budget Committee.

Knowles and Smith do not currently hold public office.

Candidates for Planning Board include Michael Lawry (two-year term), and Jason Janvrin and Francis Chase running for re-election for the two, three-year terms available.

Paul M. Kelley is running for re-election to the position of town moderator, while incumbent Gary Fowler is running for another term as a member of the Supervisors of the (voter) Check-List.

Those running for Budget Committee include Kaleb R. Brown (one-year term), and incumbent Paul Knowles (three-year term).

Robert Gaffney is running for a seat on the Library Board of Trustees, and Bruce G. Brown is a candidate for trustee of the Trust Fund.

Dennis Sweeney and Alexandria “Lexi” Carter are both running for two of the three town constable positions open.

Seabrook School District candidates

Incumbent Jessica Brown is running for re-election to her three-year seat on the five-member Seabrook School Board. Former school board member Mike Kimball is challenging her.

Winnacunnet Cooperative School District candidates

Running unopposed, Henry Marsh is seeking re-election for the three-year Winnacunnet School Board seat representing North Hampton. Also running unopposed, Richard T. Luff seeks the three-year North Hampton seat on the district’s Budget Committee

Robert R. Cushing is running for the one-year term as moderator for the district.

Registered voters from all the towns sending students to Winnacunnet High School vote to elect all candidates who run for office.