, Newburyport, MA

May 28, 2013

A note of thanks for library vote

Newburyport Daily News

---- — To the editor:

The trustees of the Salisbury Public Library would like to give a round of applause in “thanks” to the citizens of Salisbury for their commitment to building a new library. Thank you to those who voted at town election and again at Town Meeting, those who put signs on their front lawns, people who hosted informational sessions, the artists who designed billboards, brochures, door hangers and displaying balloons. Thank you to the Board of Selectmen, particularly Henry Richenburg and Don Beaulieu, for their early support and their sage advice; Jerry Klima for his keen guidance as well as his editing skills; and Freeman Condon, who spoke so eloquently at Town Meeting; our town manager, Neil Harrington, who, speaking so passionately, reminded us of others who have come before us who held libraries to be the means of “providing intellectual nourishment and food for our souls.” Of course, thank you to Terry Kyrios and Lisa Pearson for their diligence in applying for and being awarded a $3.8 million grant toward this project and to many others too numerous to name. Most importantly, let us give a salute of appreciation to the librarians who hold down the fort every day serving the community and making sure our present library is functioning on an even keel: Joan Bomba, Joan Cox and Kristen Packer. Thank you.

Now, the real work begins. We as trustees and friends of the library are committed to raising $400,000. We ask all to consider joining our fund-raising efforts as we move forward. Stop by the library, speak to

Terry or one of the librarians; call one of the trustees or friends and say you will help in this effort. The more workers, the easier the job will become.

Again, thank you all, for the promise of our new library. It represents not only what we read, but who we are, how we choose to live and what we dream.

Jeannette Emma Lazarus, Chairperson

Karen MacInnis, Treasurer

Maureen Dupray, Secretary

Nicholas Sullivan

Joseph Stucker

Dianne M. Masiello