, Newburyport, MA

January 6, 2014

Roundup: Amesbury hockey remains undefeated

Newburyport Daily News

---- — Ice Hockey

Amesbury 6, Saugus 2

The Indians (4-0-2 overall, 2-0-1 CAL) remains undefeated with a league win at Saugus. Senior Connor Stevens and sophomore Brendan Foley scored two goals each. Tabor Smith tallied a goal and three assists. Travis Motsis added a goal. J.T. Chamberlain had three assists. Sophomore Jake Harlow earned the win in net with 21 saves.

North Reading 3, Triton 0

The Vikings (0-4-2) are still in search of their first win after falling to North Reading (5-0-1) Saturday night. Triton has not scored a goal in its last two games.

Indoor Track

MSTCA Freshman/Sophomore Invitational

Newburyport’s Alec Reduker placed first in the high jump (5-8) and fourth in the high hurdles (8.73). Newburyport’s Nick Fay placed second in the high jump (5-6).

Pentucket’s 4x200 relay team of Jennie Nelson, Maddie Nelson, Grace Dore and Brooke Chambers placed fourth in 1:55.61.


Triton 45, Danvers 30

Arlington 51, Triton 24

Whittier 48, Triton 27

Triton 48, Malden Catholic 36

Triton (6-4) split the four meets in the quad Saturday at Malden Catholic. Against Danvers, Tom Howell (160 lbs., 0:45), Mark Boyle (182 lbs., 1:03), Charlie Frauenfelder (195 lbs., 0:41) and Jake Durkin (132 lbs., 1:04) won by fall. Luke Boyle (145 lbs.) won by a 9-3 decision. Alec Moffat (220 lbs.), Kevin David (285 lbs.) and Gabriel Walker (106 lbs.) won by forfeit.

Against Arlington, Cody Nixon (138 lbs., 4:48) and Luke Boyle (0:23) won by fall. Moffat (10-8) and Durkin (9-4) won by decision. Mark Boyle won by forfeit.

Against Whittier, Frauenfelder (5:20), Brody Johnson (113 lbs., 0:30) and Mark Boyle (0:40) won by fall. Nixon won by a 4-1 decision. Luke Boyle won by forfeit.

Against Malden Catholic, Johnson (1:00), Durkin (3:05), Lewi L’Heureux (4:19), Nixon (0:18), Luke Boyle (1:31), Howell (0:37), Mark Boyle (3:30) and Frauenfelder (1:59) won by fall.

Georgetown 42, Watertown 34

Georgetown’s Tom Mulligan, Constantine Galanis, Matt Carey, Derek Chamberlain and Mason Dalley by way of pin. Henry Gorrell won a 6-5 decision. Mike Gallaner picked up a 1-0 victory by decision.