DETROIT — Avisail Garcia lifted a fly ball to right field, Daniel Nava drifted back to make the play — and then a sloppy game swung in Detroit’s favor for good.
Nava appeared to have the ball in his glove, but when it came free second base umpire Mike DiMuro ruled there was no catch. That was the first of two Boston errors that helped the Tigers score three runs in the eighth inning en route to a 7-5 victory over the Red Sox yesterday.
“Sometimes it’s your day, sometimes it isn’t,” Detroit manager Jim Leyland said.
Justin Verlander struggled again for Detroit, but the Tigers rallied to win when Boston made a complete mess of the last few innings. The Red Sox allowed Detroit to tie the game at 4 in the seventh on a hit batter with the bases loaded — and then in the eighth, they gave up three runs on one hit.
Boston was convinced afterward that DiMuro had gotten the game’s key call wrong.
“I know I made the catch,” Nava said. “Sometimes calls go your way, sometimes they don’t.”
Nava, in right because Shane Victorino left the game with lower back tightness, went back toward the wall and tried to make an awkward-looking basket catch. A replay showed he might have lost the ball while transferring it from his glove to his throwing hand.
“To have a catch, you have to have complete control and voluntary release,” said crew chief Ted Barrett, the third base umpire. “(DiMuro) had him with control, but did not have the voluntary release. When he flipped the ball out of his glove, he never got it into his hand. That’s not voluntary release.”
Boston manager John Farrell was ejected for arguing the call.
“When you spend the rest of the game in the clubhouse, you probably have a difference of opinion,” Farrell said. “Clearly, the call was missed. He caught it, he went to transfer to his throwing hand, dropped it at that point.”