, Newburyport, MA


October 29, 2012

Wind in their Sails

Port boys take title, sophomore Carleo places first


Carleo was fast, but his teammates were right behind him — three other Clippers placed in the top 10.

Joseph Santo took third overall with a time of 16:11, Christopher Orlando placed sixth (16:37), and Joseph Molvar took eighth (16:41). Also pushing the pace for Newburyport were Maxwell Vye (19th; 17:22), Gabriel Ficht (25th; 17:47), and Timothy Englehart (37th; 18:19).

“Our goal is to win that Division V meet in two weeks. That’s been our goal all along,” Hennigar said.” I think if we run our race, we absolutely have a good shot at it. We have a very good opportunity. This team has shown that they can compete, and they’ve been led some great captains in Joe Santo and John Landergan. This is a real tight group and a lot of that is due to the leadership from our senior captains.”

Also having a solid day at Bradley Palmer were the Pentucket Sachems (8-2) who managed 103 points with an average time of 17:34, and a total time of 1:27:50. The Sachems were led by Alex Demeule (12th; 17:01), Ian Mitchell (14th; 17:14), Joe Labrecque (24th; 17:45), Drew Capener (26th; 17:51), Jeremy Binding (27th; 17:59), Devin McKee (32nd; 18:04), and Cooper Carfio (38th; 18:22).

The Royals of Georgetown (1-9) placed eighth with 243 points, finishing with a team average of 18:53 and a total time of 1:34:23). The Royals were paced by Tom Mulligan (15th; 17:14), Casey Reale (45th; 18:44), Alex Brannon (55th; 19:15), Cam Durkee (63rd; 19:28), Nick Mammolette (65th; 19:42), Ted Kosciuszk (70th; 20:03), and Owen Ricker (74th; 21:06).

Placing tenth with 278 points were the Amesbury Indians (1-9), who recorded an average time of 19:24, and a total time of 1:36:58). Liam Gallagher (28th; 18:01), Cole Legg (44th; 18:43), Riley O’Connor (61st; 19:25), Jonathan Ellen (72nd; 20:20), Brian Chabot (73rd; 20:29), and Jackson Kulick (75th; 21:17) led the Indians.

The Triton Vikings (1-9) ended up placing eleventh with 297 points while taking home an average time of 19:24, and a total team time of 1:37:00. The Vikings were led by the running of Sam Auwerda (50th; 18:57), Dmitri Hunt (57th; 19:19), Drew Collins (60th; 19:25), Will McCaffrey (64th; 19:32), Dan Horgan (66th; 19:47), Ryan Kent (68th; 19:57), and Brandon Duford (69th; 20:01).

Text Only | Photo Reprints

NDN Video
SNC Minute: Taney loses to Nevada, Phils win Taney watch party at Springside Chestnut Hill Academy 3 & Out: What to watch for in Eagles' 3rd preseason game Taney still alive despite 'off day' from Mo'ne Davis 'Strange strike zone' a factor in Taney's loss Will Alex Henery be the Eagles' kicker on opening day? The Buzzer: Tattoos, John Wall and Babe Ruth Steelers Running Backs Arrested, Browns Roll with Hoyer Carl Edwards to Drive No. 19 For Joe Gibbs in 2015 Darrell Wallace, Jr steps on Block T and pays for it Larry’s Notebook: Where Does the Aggression Go? Just Call Him Johnny Clipboard - @TheBuzzeronFOX Meyer confident despite losing Miller for the year Reggie Jackson's ALS Ice Bucket Challenge Mo'ne's Mom: She's Up There With LeBron, Kobe - @TheBuzzeronFOX Can Buckeyes fill Miller's void? Manziel mature enough to start? Ditka Blames 'Politically Correct Idiots' For Redskins Controversy - @TheBuzzeronFOx Redskins show solidarity with Ferguson protesters Is Taney a team of destiny?
Special Features