, Newburyport, MA


June 7, 2013

Nine will enter school's first Hall of Fame class

Nine former Indians to be honored in September

AMESBURY — After two years of planning, the first class of the Amesbury High School Athletic Hall of Fame has been selected and committee chairman Sam Wilmot couldn’t be happier about it.

“We are just so excited,” Wilmot says of his fellow committee members. “It’s something that we’ve wanted to see done for a long time.”

An AHS class of 1977 grad, Wilmot played baseball, basketball and football and has been pushing the idea for the past two years of an AHS Athletic Hall of Fame that will honor athletes, contributors and coaches, using a combination of a Facebook page and word of mouth. Eventually he was able to put together a committee and the Hall will become a reality in September.

“I’m just the one who’s been carrying the pail,” says Wilmot. “(Others) tried to do it about seven or eight years ago and it just fell by the wayside for some reason. I just decided that it had to be done and I kept working at it, working at it and apparently I asked the right people to help.”

Nine Indians will be part of the first class, including legendary football coach Tony Tassinari, who is the all-time winningest coach in AHS football history, leading his team to 30 wins in a row from 1949-1952.

A holder of eight varsity letters, Nancy Klein (’77) was also named All-Scholastic in field hockey and softball and also played basketball.

Considered to be one of the best athletes to come out of Amesbury, Jerry Mondalto (’72) received 12 varsity letters and was named All-Scholastic in football and baseball. Mondalto also had his football jersey (22) retired and went on to become the all-time winningest coach in Indians’ baseball history.

Also having his football jersey (33) retired, Tino Bertolini (’53) is thought by many to be one of the best linemen in AHS history and was captain of both the baseball and football teams.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

NDN Video
Special Features