Ballot order drawn for Ward 6 preliminary election

JACK SHEA / Staff Photo .  Cassandra Green, right, the office manager in the Newburyport City Clerk's Office, reaches into a hat held by Board of Registrars member Susanne Gallagher Friday morning to select the ballot order for the September 7 preliminary election for Ward 6 city councilor.

NEWBURYPORT — The order in which candidates' names will appear on the September 17 preliminary election ballot for Ward 6 was chosen in a drawing at City Hall Friday morning. 

In the election's only race, Ward 6 city councilor candidates' names will be on the ballot in the following order: 1. Byron J. Lane; 2. Sarah Hall; 3. Mary E. Zinck.

To select the order, the names were drawn from a hat in City Council Chambers Friday morning by Cassandra Green, office manager in the City Clerk's Office, with assistance from Board of Registrars member Susanne Gallagher.

All three candidates are newcomers and are vying for a seat currently held by Thomas O'Brien, who recently announced he would not seek re-election, bringing a close to his 22 year tenure on the council.

Lane lives at 14 Hart Road, Hall lives at 8 Arthur Welch Drive, and Zinck resides at 6 Laurel Road.

The election will narrow the field to two candidates who will compete in the November 5 municipal election, which will feature races for all City Council seats and three School Committee positions. The ballot this year does not include a mayoral race.

Ward 1 Councilor Sharif Zeid, Ward 2 Councilor Jared Eigerman and Ward 3 Councilor Heather Shand are all running unopposed for re-election. Newcomers Christine Elizabeth Wallace of 474 Merrimac St. and James J. McCauley of 27 Storeybrooke Drive are both unopposed in the race for Ward 4 and Ward 5 council seats, respectively.

Competing for five councilor at-large seats in November will be incumbents Barry Connell, Bruce Vogel, Joseph Devlin and Afroz Khan along with challengers Charles Tontar, Robert Germinara of 2 Ashland St. and Paul C. O'Brien of 483B Merrimac St. Tontar is currently Ward 4 councilor but filed papers to run in the at-large race.

Competing for three open four-year School Committee seats will be incumbents Sean R. Reardon and Bruce Menin, and challengers Eliza J. Bobek of 92 Prospect St. and Sheila Reardon Spalding of 10 Fair St.

The three other School Committee members — Steven Cole, David Hochheiser and Brian Callahan — are in the middle of serving four-year terms and are not up for re-election until 2021. 

Staff writer Jack Shea covers Newbury­port City Hall. He can be reached via email at or by phone at 978-961-3154. Follow him on Twitter @iamjackshea.

Recommended for you