BYFIELD — There was some disagreement among Triton Regional School Committee members Wednesday about who could best serve the interests of the board as its committee chairman before tabbing Rowley's Ed Mavragis for the post.

Secretary Deborah Choate made an early push to re-elect Newbury's Dina Sullivan to the post, citing at the meeting's outset the benefits of leadership continuity.

"I believe it's in the best interest of the School Committee, and of the district, to nominate Dina Sullivan," Choate said.

Although Sullivan received support from Choate and Newbury's Suzanne Densmore, a majority of the members, including Holly Janvrin, Mary Murphy and Lane Bourn, threw their support behind Mavragis, who was nominated for the chairmanship by Newbury member Frank Chiaravalotti.

Mavragis is a former graduate of Salem State College who spent his career in education, moving up the educational ranks from teacher to superintendent in Long Island and Massachusetts. Mavragis had formerly served as committee vice chairman, and his first official order of business as chairman was to give kudos to Sullivan for her work guiding the committee this past year.

"I'd like to thank Dina for her leadership in a very tough year," he said.

Densmore was unanimously chosen to take over Choate's role as secretary, and Frank Chiaravalotti was unanimously voted in as the committee's new vice chairman.

"Frank's worked very hard and shown steady growth in the position," said nominating member Mary Murphy.

Trending Video

Recommended for you