WEST NEWBURY — Forty-nine Pentucket Regional High School seniors earned scholarships for free tuition at the state’s public colleges following their exceptional performance on the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System tests, according to a press release.

The John and Abigail Adams Scholarship, offered through the Massachusetts Department of Education, provides full tuition waivers to four-year public colleges and universities in the state.

“Our students work so hard day in and day out, and this is a great indicator of the reward for that effort,” Principal Jonathan Seymour said in the press release. “I’m extremely proud of the students who earned this prestigious honor, and I have no doubt they’ll represent Pentucket well in their future academic work.”

To be eligible for the scholarship, students must attain an advanced performance level on one of the three high school state assessments in either English language arts, mathematics or one of the science, technology and engineering categories: biology, chemistry, introductory physics or technology/engineering.

Students also have to score at the proficient level or above on the two remaining tests aside from whichever one they achieved an advanced score.

Finally, their combined scores from the three tests have to place in the top 25% of fellow graduates from their district.

The students are: Jennifer Arnold, Benjamin Atwood, Caleigh Beaton, Talia Beech, Kendall Begin, Andrew Bennett, Alex Borzi, Caroline Clark, Kerstin Cloutier, Jake Correnti, Amanda Davies, Isabelle Delisle, Cole Downey, Owen Drescher, Molly Forget, Cory Foster, Jeremy Glazebrook, Kyle Graham, Hannah Grinnell, Veronica Hart, Kayla King, Jessica Kolifrath, Luke Kreuser, Ryan Maguire, Megan McCoy, Nicholas Mower, Lydia O’Brien, Conor O’Neil, Maximilian Owens, Tyler Pfifferling, Cameron Piecewicz, Cassanda Plisinski, Casey Pratt, Tegan Pratt, Evan Raftery, Porter Renko, Aidan Rich, Sarah Riter, Katherine Rosa, Julia Rossi, Alexander Satkus, Sage Seymour, Jake Slevoski, Chloe Spurr, Kylie Stewart, Mikayla Tilden, Nicole Tudisco, Paige Willis and Anna Wyner. 

“This is an extraordinary award that is truly indicative of the extraordinary effort students have put into their academic success,” Superintendent Justin Bartholomew said. “I’m grateful for the work of our district’s teachers, who helped make these successes possible, and for the continued commitment of our students to do their very best in all aspects of their school work, including the MCAS.”

Recommended for you