NEWBURY — Three candidates are circulating nomination papers to run for two seats on the Board of Selectmen this spring.

Incumbents J.R. Colby and Damon Jespersen, along with former Selectman Charles “Chuck” Bear, are likely to seek the two three-year seats.

Bear first served as selectman from 2004-06. He was again elected in 2010 and served until last year when he lost a bid for re-election to Mike Doyle.

Other incumbents who have pulled papers include Tree Warden Timothy Lamprey and Steven Fram of the Board of Health. Alexander Burke is gathering signatures for one of two three-year terms on the Board of Library Trustees.

Incumbents whose three-year positions are up this spring are: Sandy Wechsler, Board of Assessors; Jeffrey Janvrin, fish commissioner; Christopher Armstrong, moderator; Dina Sullivan, Triton Regional School Committee; Patrick Gormley, trustee of the First Settlers Burial Ground; and Margaret Grimes, library trustee.

The Planning Board has a vacant three-year unexpired seat and a five-year spot now held by Leslie Matthews. Reagh Atkinson’s four-year term as constable is also up this year.

Voters will fill 14 municipal seats in the election May 12. The deadline to pull papers is March 20.

To qualify to have their name appear on the annual town ballot, nominees must obtain 41 signatures from voters registered in Newbury and return them to the town clerk’s office no later than March 24 at 5 p.m.

As of Wednesday, no candidates had returned papers.

Recommended for you