Three named to Amesbury Hall of Honor

Courtesy photo/Gale RegisHall of Honor recipients, from left, former educator, Beverly Peeke; former student, Dr. Jacqueline Bastien; and friend of education, Florence Kennedy.

AMESBURY – Amesbury Educational Foundation Inc. has announced the selection of three local women as the recipients of the 18th Hall of Honor, the top honor that AEFI awards annually.

The Hall of Honor celebrates individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Amesbury Public Schools and who serve as inspirational role models for students. AEFI President Patty Hoyt said in a press release that the honorees are well-known in the community not only for their unwavering commitment to their careers, but also for their kindness, their service to the community, and their families.

Former educator Beverly Peeke became an elementary and Title 1 teacher in Amesbury before she began a 30-year career at Barnard School in South Hampton, New Hampshire, where she became a favorite teacher among students and parents.

Known as an effective teacher for her third- and fourth-grade students, Peeke was a finalist for the New Hampshire Educator of the Year. The 1964 graduate of Amesbury High School continues to be an active resident in her hometown.

Dr. Jacqueline Bastien, who has been selected for the honor as the former student, is well known as a veterinarian and co-owner of Amesbury Animal Hospital.

After graduating from Amesbury High School in 1986 as the valedictorian, the captain of the CAL Champ softball team and an award-winning artist, Bastien continued her education at the University of Maine and Tufts University School of Veterinary Medicine. She then joined Amesbury Animal Hospital, where she has continuously cared for animals, both large and small.

Florence Kennedy is a true “Friend of Education” who has served Amesbury Public Schools as a school nurse and health educator for her entire career of 32 years.

 Kennedy was a pioneer in an uncharted area in school nursing by becoming an advocate for comprehensive health programs and practices that would contribute to students’ well-being at Amesbury Middle and High schools, and then at Amesbury Innovation High School.

She collaborated to provide individual counseling, education and intervention in areas that required intensive attention.

The three honorees will be formally celebrated May 8 with a daylong series of events that begin with a student assembly at Amesbury High, where the Hall of Honor plaques are permanently displayed.

The public is then invited to attend the celebration at 6 p.m. at the Hartleb Center at Northern Essex Community College in Haverhill. The event’s co-chairs, Cheryl Goodwin and Anne Bryant, called the Hall of Honor AEFI’s signature event.

Sponsorships, as well as donations for raffle and silent auction items, are needed. Proceeds from the Hall of Honor support AEFI’s mission to award innovative grants to teachers that will benefit students in Amesbury Public Schools.

Spring grants will be announced at the gala. Tickets are available through the AEFI website for $45 if purchased in advance by May 1.

Trending Video

Recommended for you