SALISBURY – The North of Boston Convention & Visitors Bureau held its annual meeting and awards ceremony recently at the Beauport Hotel, in Gloucester.

During the meeting, visitors bureau leaders presented the 2018 North of Boston Tourism Awards, recognized 2018 Tourism Mini-Grant recipients, inducted new board members and thanked outgoing board members for their service. The Salem Witch Museum and Topsfield Fair were event sponsors and the Briar Barn Inn in Rowley was the presenting sponsor.

Executive Board members inducted for 2018-19 include Jennifer Close, chair - Peabody Essex Museum; Kate Fox, immediate past chair - Destination Salem; Tami O'Brien, vice chair - Encompass Premiums & Apparel; James O'Brien, treasurer - Topsfield Fair; Bethany Groff Dorau, secretary - Historic New England; Krista Marchand, at large - Wylie Inn & Conference Center; and Karen Nascembeni, at large - North Shore Music Theatre.

The Board of Directors includes Matt Anzivino - Rockport Inn & Suites; Julie Arrison-Bishop - The House of the Seven Gables; Elizabeth Carey - Discover Gloucester; Kassandra Gove - Amesbury Chamber of Commerce & Industrial Foundation; John Orlando - The Harborview Inn; Ann Ormond - Town of Andover; Drew Russo - Lynn Museum/LynnArts; Merry Ward - Salem Witch Museum; and Ann Marie Casey, North of Boston Convention & Visitors Bureau - Ex Officio.

New directors are Tara B. Bassett - Boston Marriott Peabody; Joe Bevilacqua - Merrimack Valley Chamber of Commerce; Jo Broderick - Montserrat College of Art; Heather Dagle - 7 Seas Whale Watch; Jeanne Hennessey - Beauport Hospitality Group; Gia Page - Davio's Lynnfield; and Robert Simonelli - The Landing Restaurant.

Departing directors include Michael Bevilacqua - Merrimack Valley Chamber of Commerce; George Carey - FINZ Seafood & Seal Level Oyster Bar; Linn Parisi - Over the Bridge Tours; Eva Valentine - Aegis Financial Strategies, Inc.; Taunya Wolfe Finn, CTP - Wolfe Adventures and Tours, LLC; and Rhonda Woodman - Woodman's of Essex.

Awards were presented to: 

The Anne Turcotte Leadership Award was presented to Tobin Dominick of Cape Ann's Marina Resort; the Geoff Woodman Hospitality Award was presented to David Compton of the Residence Inn Boston/Danvers;  Kristen Weiss of Cogswell's Grant, a Historic New England property, was presented the Story Teller Award; Giovanni Alabiso of Salem Historical Tours & Haunted Footsteps Ghost Tour was presented with the Small Business Award; the Frontline Hospitality Award was presented to Tom Conway of the Salem Witch Museum; the New Member Award was presented to The Yard House in Lynnfield; the Award of Appreciation was presented to state Rep. James Kelcourse, R-Amesbury, for going above and beyond to promote tourism in Essex County.

Tammy Harrington, general manager of the Salem Trolley, was given the 2018 Special Recognition Award.

Tourism Mini-Grants were presented to Cape Ann Chamber of Commerce; Destination Salem; Discover Gloucester; Essex National Heritage Commission; Greater Haverhill Chamber of Commerce; Greater Newburyport Chamber of Commerce; Marblehead Chamber of Commerce; Marblehead Museum; Montserrat College of Art; Rockport Cultural District; Rockport Division, Cape Ann Chamber of Commerce; The House of the Seven Gables; and the Topsfield Fair.


Recommended for you